Here comes yet another bug in iOS 8 that can ruins ones life. There have been multiple whistle blowers on different forums who have been complaining of this “Reset All Settings” option found in iOS 8, resulted in deleting all their iWork documents that the users have stored in iCloud. The option may be found under Settings>> General >> Reset. So beware of this option before taping on it as the pop up message shown in the above image doesn’t mean what it says.
Here is the story of one of the effected guy who wants to get rid of the lagy iOS 8 performance, He wrote in a forum ” Because iOS 8 was so sluggish on my iPad 3 I reset all settings (No data or media will be deleted) and sped it up BUT deleted my iWork data! Then promptly synced and deleted it in iCloud.I have public beta of Yosemite so can’t roll back via time machine. I have no pre iOS 8 backups in iTunes or iCloud to revert to (well iCloud device backups don’t contain cloud documents and I should have iOS 7 backups in iTunes but can’t find any. iCloud has no trash like dropbox. They seem gone forever.”
Even though the “Reset All Settings” option clearly says that,” No data or media will be deleted” as it has to be so, and it will help users to delete their preferences to the default and make sure to make their iDevice perform better. But by taping on this options the users end up deleting all their iWork documents or iCloud Drive documents from their online drives.
One more users who have been effected with this bug has reported that he has lost all his date stored in iCloud documents drive and he still couldn’t find any option to get its data back ever. So we advise you to be very careful with this bug and make sure to make a backup of your data at a safe place or atleast sync your data with other Cloud services or with your PC or Mac before using the “Reset All Settings” option on your iPhone or iPad running latest iOS 8, iOS 8.0.1 or iOS 8.0.2.