Beyond 1st Level

The next stage in the DND 5E arrives when your character crosses a certain Challenge or Adventure. This adds some experience to its overall traits. Thus adding more experience points after having the initial Races and Classes advantages. A character who reaches a specified experience point total advances in capability. This advancement is called gaining a level.

Characters Gaining Level:

When your character gains a level, his or her class often grants additional features, as detailed in the class description. Some of these features allow you to increase your Ability Scores, either increasing two scores by 1 each or increasing one score by 2. You can’t increase an ability score above 20. In addition, every character’s Proficiency Bonus increases at certain levels.

Each time you gain a level, you gain 1 additional Hit Die. Roll that Hit Die, add your Constitution modifier to the roll, and add the total to your hit point maximum. Alternatively, you can use the fixed value shown in your class entry, which is the average result of the die roll (rounded up).

Beyond 1st Level in DND 5E

More Experience Increases Beyond 1st Level:

When your Constitution modifier increases by 1, your hit points maximum increases by 1 for each level you have attained. For example, if your 7th-level Fighter has a Constitution score of 17, when he reaches 8th level, he increases his Constitution score from 17 to 18, thus increasing his Constitution modifier from +3 to +4. His hit point maximum then increases by 8.

The Character Advancement table summarizes the XP you need to advance in levels from level 1 through level 20, and the Proficiency Bonus for a character of that level. Consult the information in your character’s class description to see what other improvements you gain at each level.

Character Advancement Points/Levels:

Experience Points Level Proficiency Bonus
0 1 +2
300 2 +2
900 3 +2
2,700 4 +2
6,500 5 +3
14,000 6 +3
23,000 7 +3
34,000 8 +3
48,000 9 +4
64,000 10 +4
85,000 11 +4
100,000 12 +4
120,000 13 +5
140,000 14 +5
165,000 15 +5
195,000 16 +5
225,000 17 +6
265,000 18 +6
305,000 19 +6
355,000 20 +6

What are we looking at Beyond the First level:

There are 5 different stages after you passed the first level in DND 5E.

You can trace more into these levels by clicking on any of them.